Game News

Treyarch explains the new prestige system of Black Ops 2

by William Schwartz


Call of Duty: Black Ops II will feature a prestige experience unlike any other before it, according to Treyarch’s David Vonderhaar. Vonderhaar took the stage at a recent Eurogamer Expo presentation to reveal new details about the prestige system that Treyarch has incorporated in the Black Ops sequel.

Confirming previous details, Vonderhaar explained that there will be 55 levels in the main progression system for the game. Within which you’ll be earning weapons and perks, as explained in this earlier post. Once you reach level 55, there are 10 levels of prestige to follow. Like previous Call of Duty games, when you choose to prestige, you’ll reset your level back to 1. The big changes which Vonderhaar had alluded to in a prior announcement, is that you won’t lose progression or content that has already been unlocked.

“In Black Ops 2 prestige is not a start over system,” says Vonderhaar. “When you prestige in Black Ops II I will not reset your weapon levelling. If you are level four on a gun you will still be level four when you cycle back around to that gun. Same with all your cosmetics, any camo you’ve unlocked or emblem, all the personalization, all the fancy backgrounds you managed to achieve, all of that will still be there.”

Call of Duty: Black Ops II is scheduled for a November 13th release date on the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, PC, and slightly later on the Wii U.

- This article was updated on:March 7th, 2018

GAME DEALSGet Twitch Prime For Free Right Now and get in-game items, rewards, and free games
You May Like
Save $10 on Cyberpunk 2077
Promoted - Amazon