Attack of the Fanboy
×
News

DOOM Goes Hardcore Punk In Live-Action Trailer Ahead Of Beta

by Scott Grill

Bethesda Softworks and iD Software released the DOOM “Fight Like Hell” cinematic trailer Thursday, just ahead of the start of the shooter’s closed eta on the PS4, Xbox One, and PC. The new trailer is a mix of live-action and CGI with a Sweedish hardcore punk soundtrack thrown in.

“Fight. Like. Hell. Celebrate DOOM‘s upcoming launch with our all-new live-action cinematic trailer,” the YouTube description reads. “Directed by Joe Kosinski (Oblivion, Tron: Legacy), the trailer evokes the pillars of DOOM‘s gameplay: Relentless Combat, Terrifying Demons, and Bad Ass Guns.”

In addition to demon stomping and shooting, the trailer throws in the nice touch of showing battle damage to Space Marine’s armor after every encounter. The music comes courtesy of Swedish band Refused and their song, “New Noise.”

The DOOM multiplayer beta kicks off today at 10 pm. ET / 7 p.m. PT and will run through Sunday, April 3 at 11:59 p.m. ET / 8:59 p.m. PT. Those that pre-ordered Wolfenstein: The New Order are guaranteed to get in along with any closed alpha test participants. Additionally, GameStop and EB Games will be handing out additional keys on Friday, April 1 at 6 p.m. ET as part of a promotion.

Those that get into the DOOM beta can look forward to playing on the “Heatwave” and “Infernal” maps in the Team Deathmatch and Warpath gametypes. Additionally, the following power-ups and weapons will also be available.

  • Demon: Revenant
  • Weapons: Rocket Launcher, Plasma Rifle, Super Shotgun, Vortex Rifle, Static Rifle, Heavy Assault Rifle, and Lightning Gun
  • Power Weapons: Gauss Cannon
  • Equipment: Frag Grenade, Personal Teleporter, Siphon Grenade

The full release of DOOM will arrive to the PS4, Xbox One, and PC on May 13.

[Image via DOOM]

SHARE THIS
Say Something

Check out our Community Guidelines and Comment Policy.