Attack of the Fanboy
×
News

Overwatch Server Launch Schedule Makes It Playable Monday For Some

by Scott Grill

OW580_Widowmaker-760x427

The Overwatch release time for some retailers was bumped up to May 23 raising the question of when Blizzard Entertainment will switch the shooter’s servers on. That question has been answered revealing PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC owners in the Americas will have the opportunity to play Monday afternoon and evening.

Blizzard is flipping the switch on Overwatch’s servers at the same time across the globe. The actual launch time is midnight London, England time (BST) on Tuesday, May 24. This translates to 7 p.m. ET or 4 p.m. PT in North America. Meanwhile, Australia and Southeast Asia will have to wait until the early Tuesday morning hours for the game to go live.

Here is the complete deployment schedule per the Overwatch website.

overwatch-deployment-schedule

Xbox One and PC owners who have pre-ordered Overwatch digitally can pre-download the game now. PlayStation 4 owners and all physical disk owners will have to go through the installation process when the game becomes available through their retailers.

The Overwatch beta was a success with 9.7 million players participating across all three platforms, besting beta participation from competing products. Blizzard shared an infographic Friday showing over 37 million matches played with an average playtime around 7 minutes per match. Soldier-76, Widowmaker, Reinhardt, and Mercy were the most picked heroes out of their respective classes.

SHARE THIS
Say Something

Check out our Community Guidelines and Comment Policy.