God Eater 3 Review

God Eater 3 Guide: How To Unlock Acceleration Triggers

Recommended Videos

While Burst is essential to your success in God Eater 3, there is now a new buff that allows your character’s strength to reach new heights: Acceleration Triggers.

What Are Acceleration Triggers?

Obtained following a certain Rank 2 story mission, Acceleration Triggers are special buffs that activate once certain conditions are met. They come in four basic categories — Attack, Defense, Support and Devour — but both the effects and the conditions can vary wildly, such as being able to buff an ally’s attack after healing allies a certain amount or gaining lifesteal after successfully guarding a few times.

Much like Burst Control Units, these allow you to adopt a playstyle that is uniquely your own; and if you play your card rights the Acceleration Trigger’s buff will be permanent since it can be refreshed before the duration runs out.

Sounds Good. How Are They Unlocked?

Simple: Use other Acceleration Triggers. That’s it.

You’ll only have the most basic of Acceleration Triggers when they’re first unlocked, but you’ll be able to attain more once you start to level them up.

Here’s an example:

H>>Chemist (Lvl.2) → H>>Alchemist (Lvl.2) → H>>Harlequin

In other words, leveling up an Acceleration Trigger to Lvl.2 upon fulfilling the conditions enough times will then unlock another Acceleration Trigger, which then needs to also be levelled up before obtaining the next Acceleration Trigger in the chain. Really, the process is very easy to understand, the challenge is actually doing it due to two limiting factors.

These are:

  • Condition
  • Mission Rank

As stated before, Acceleration Triggers need specific conditions to be met before they activate and some of them can be difficult to achieve depending on the situation. For example, Just Guarding will be difficult for newer players and they’ll likely sacrifice their offense, as well as take a few hits, if they’re trying to fulfill the condition without having a grasp of the mechanic first. Similarly, skilled players might have some trouble getting Link Aid-based Acceleration Triggers, since their runs will be far smoother — especially in multiplayer.

Meanwhile, it might seem like a good idea to use lower ranking missions to unlock new Acceleration Triggers due to there being less risk, but you also get less experience per successful activation. It might be a good idea to do this at first for a few defense-based Acceleration Triggers in order to get your bearings, but do know that you won’t be making much progress while doing so.

Anything Else?

Not really. Just know that certain Acceleration Triggers are better than others, but might not fit your playstyle particularly well, so don’t choose them solely based on strength. For instance, an Acceleration Trigger that allows you to taunt an Aragami whenever you Just Guard isn’t particularly strong, but it does mean that the AI or newer players will be kept out of harm’s way.

Though this is something I’ll go into greater detail in the Engage guide, it’s also worth noting that Acceleration Trigger buffs are shared between players whenever they’re Engaged with one another, so try to pick one that you can reasonably activate in order for your ally to benefit as well.

Attack of the Fanboy is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy