Game News

Celebrate 25 Years Of Doom With The Original Doom Trilogy On Modern Consoles

Modern consoles, classic Doom.

by Jelani James


It’s been 25 years since we first fought the legions of hell on Mars in Doom, and Bethesda is celebrating the occasion by digitally releasing the original trilogy on all modern consoles.

Doom first graced our homes in 1993 and quickly became a standout among the crowd thanks to its gory, fast-paced, demon-slaying action. It’s cited as being one of the catalysts that popularized the first person shooter genre, and its through that popularity that has allowed it stand the test of time — despite the all the controversy it’s been faced with.

Thanks to its enduring popularity, it has seen a variety of sequels, spin-offs and even a movie (with another in production).

This collection will allow players to relive (or check out) those glory days, featuring the original trilogy with all the extra bells and whistles packaged right in.

Here’s what comes with each game:

Doom (1993):

  • The expansion, Episode IV: Thy Flesh Consumed, with nine additional action-packed levels
  • Local four-player deathmatch
  • Local four-player co-op

Doom II (1994):

  • The Master Levels, 20 additional levels made by the community and supervised by the developers
  • Local four-player multiplayer
  • Local four-player co-op

Doom 3 (2004):

  • Resurrection of Evil and The Lost Missions expansion packs

The first two games will cost $4.99, while the third will cost $9.99.

This isn’t all the Doom action that Bethesda had to share today either. On top of this announcement, new gameplay footage of the upcoming Doom Eternal was also revealed.

Check out the announcement trailer below:

You May Like