Attack of the Fanboy
×
News

Dragon Ball FighterZ Open Beta kicks off August 9th

by Rhys ap Gwyn

Try out Bandai Namco's latest DBZ brawler on Switch ahead of its September launch

dragon_ball_fighters-3760276-e1533373645397

Dragon Ball FighterZ punched its way onto the PS4, Xbox One and PC at the beginning of this year to some pretty solid reviews. Arc System Works seem to have delivered the DBZ fighting game fans have been dreaming of with glorious results (maybe in part because Tekken’s Katsuhiro Harada came to help!) and we finally get to take it with us to the dentist, or… wherever.

Bandai Namco Entertainment announced a few months ago, following the success of Dragon Ball: Xenoverse 2, that Dragon Ball FighterZ would come to Nintendo’s little console.

Given the humble innards of the Switch, ports from the beefier consoles and PC are always cause for concern, however, Xenoverse 2 did admirably in almost all aspects and, most importantly, kept the content and control responsiveness intact. Online was also robust, which is important when looking at Dragon Ball FighterZ since its online hub will make up most of the meal for some players.

If you’d like to give the game a bash ahead of its September 28th release, an Open Beta will be running through the weekend of August 10th at these times:

PDT: 9th August, 9pm – 12th August, 12am

EDT: 10th August, 12am – 12th August, 3am

BST: 10th August, 5am – 12th August, 8am

CEST: 10th August, 6am – 12th August, 9am

23 characters (see below) will be available to try out across four different modes including “Practice Battle Tutorial”, “Arena Match” for 1v1 fights, “Ring Match” and “Ring Party Match” along with a replay channel to reminisce about kicking ass.

  • Goku (Super Saiyan)
  • Vegeta (Super Saiyan)
  • Gohan (Teen)
  • Gohan (Adult)
  • Gotenks
  • Trunks
  • Frieza
  • Cell
  • Majin Buu
  • Kid Buu
  • Krillin
  • Piccolo
  • Tien Shinhan
  • Nappa
  • Android 16
  • Android 18
  • Yamcha
  • Ginyu
  • Hit
  • Goku (SSGSS)
  • Vegeta (SSGSS)
  • Beerus
  • Goku Black

The Switch version of the game also features “Extreme Type”: an easy input mode allowing  players to launch specials using the L and R buttons designed specifically so that players can use individual Joy-Cons to duke it out on the bus.

Check out our review of the original and head over to the eShop to download the Open Beta before you regret it. Just saiyan.

SHARE THIS
Say Something

Check out our Community Guidelines and Comment Policy.