Attack of the Fanboy
×
News

Halo World Championships 2016 Kicks Off Today With Firefight Preview Sunday

by Scott Grill

hwc-hero-760-760x427

The Halo World Championships 2016 kicks off today with a $2.5 million prize pool and a $1 million grand prize on the line. 343 Industries and Microsoft have a full weekend of action between 16 teams planned starting Friday morning. There are some in-game Halo 5 goodies available as well plus a sneak peek planned for Warzone Firefight.

Those interested in watching the World Championships should tune into the Halo and ESL Halo Twitch channels on Friday, March 18 and Saturday, March 19 starting at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT. Matches will run late into the evening to decide which two teams will compete in the finals taking place Sunday, March 20 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT.

The full schedule of matches can be found here.

Those that watch the finals on the Halo Twitch channel or via the Xbox One XLEi app will receive a World Championship REQ Pack for free. You’ll need to act quick to redeem it though as the code will expire Monday at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT. The REQ Pack comes with the ultra rare Challenger armor set and an emblem for the World Championships.

343 Industries has another reason to watch the World Championship finals on Sunday. The Warzone Firefight mode coming in a future update will be shown in action for the first time.

[Image via 343 Industries]

SHARE THIS
Say Something

Check out our Community Guidelines and Comment Policy.