Game News

Shovel Knight Coming to Nintendo Switch with All DLC Included

by Darrin Wright


If you somehow still haven’t played Shovel Knight, the love letter to 8-bit platforming and action games by Yacht Club Games, and are also planning on getting a Nintendo Switch, we’ve got good news for you.

The developer announced today that the highly-rated game will be coming to Nintendo’s next console, with both of its DLC expansions – Plague of Night and Spector of Torment – bundled in. The collection will be called Shovel Knight: Treasure Trove and will feature “Body Swap Mode,” which affects the main characters and is exactly what it sounds like (photo below), and a two-player cooperative campaign mode.


They also say the local two player co-op option is coming as a free update to all console and PC platforms, while the original Shovel Knight is getting rebranded as Shovel Knight: Shovel of Hope. The expansions will be available for purchase on Switch, PS4, Xbox One and PC as separate, standalone games as opposed to being grouped together once Treasure Trove launches.

More Shovel Knight Coming

That’s not the only announcement by Yacht Club Games: two more pieces of Shovel Knight content are planned for 2017. The first is Shovel Knight: King’s Knight Campaign, which is what you think it is, a campaign centered around the King’s Knight.

The second is Shovel Knight: Battle Mode, which allows up to four players to battle it out amongst themselves in what sounds like a Super Smash Bros.-inspired mode. Both will be sold individually, but Battle Mode will not be available for the Nintendo 3DS or PS Vita.

In addition, the base price of the game will be going up “this spring,” according to the developer, although they didn’t disclose what the new price would be or what the release window is for the new expansions. Both King’s Knight and Battle Mode will be offered as free updates to those who purchase Treasure Trove on any platform other than 3DS or PS Vita.

- This article was updated on:March 8th, 2018

You May Like