Attack of the Fanboy

Zelda Wins Game of the Year at 2017 Golden Joystick Awards

by Jose Belmonte


The 35th edition of the Golden Joystick Awards took place last night in London, where The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild took both Ultimate Game of the Year and Critics’ Choice awards, among others. The ceremony, which handed trophies based on the online voting of millions of fans around the world, also highlighted The Last of Us Part 2 as the Most Wanted Game among those coming in the future. Breath of the Wild was overall the most awarded title of the evening, taking five trophies in total, including Best Audio, Nintendo Game of the Year, and the Best Studio for Nintendo EPD.

Other big winners of the ceremony included Horizon: Zero Dawn, which won Best Storytelling, Best Gaming Perfomance for voice actress Ashly Burch, who also took the Breakthrough of the Year, and PlayStation Game of the Year. The game was also the second running to the Ultimate Game of the Year Award, with Persona 5 being third. Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds took home trophies for Best Multiplayer Game, and PC Game of the Year, while Overwatch was named eSports Game of the Year. Cuphead was named Xbox Game of the Year, although Friday the 13th The Game was named Best Indie Game.

The Golden Joystick also gave a Lifetime Achievement to Civilization’s creator Sid Meier, and a Hall of Fame Award to the Final Fantasy series.

Check out the full list of winners below.

  • Best Storytelling: Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Best Visual Design: Cuphead
  • Best Audio: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of The Wild
  • Best Gaming Performance: Ashly Burch – Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Best Indie Game: Friday the 13th The Game
  • Best Multiplayer Game: Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Studio of the Year: Nintendo EPD
  • eSports Play of the Year: Agilities’ five-man Dragonblade at Overwatch Contenders
  • eSports Team of the Year: Seoul Dynasty (formerly Lunatic-Hai)
  • eSports Game of the Year: Overwatch
  • Best Streamer/Broadcaster: Markiplier
  • Handheld/Mobile Game of the year: Pokémon Sun and Moon
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of The Wild
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Cuphead
  • PC Game of the Year: Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Critics’ Choice Award: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of The Wild
  • Breakthrough Award: Ashly Burch
  • Hall of Fame Award: Final Fantasy
  • Most Wanted Game: The Last of Us Part II
  • Still Playing: World of Tanks
  • Outstanding Contribution to the UK Game Industry: Debbie Bestwick
  • Lifetime Achievement: Sid Meier
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of The Wild

What games would you have picked for each award? Sound off in the comments section.

You May Like