Game Guides

Fire Emblem Three Houses: Can You Change Difficulty and How to Do it

You can make the game easier, but not harder

by Kyle Hanson


Fire Emblem: Three Houses may seem like a daunting adventure to undertake, but for longtime fans of the series or genre it’s actually a bit easy to make it to the end without losing a bunch of characters. That is, if you pick the right difficulty and options. At the very start of the game you have two choices to make about how difficult your time will be. Depending on what you choose here you may be able to change it later, but you may not. Here’s the answer to can you change difficulty and how to do it in Fire Emblem: Three Houses.

Can you Change Difficulty in Fire Emblem: Three Houses

Let’s get the hard part over first. You can change the difficulty in Fire Emblem: Three Houses, but only to lower it. You cannot make the game harder than it is at the very beginning, so if you chose Normal over Hard then that is the difficulty setting you are stuck with for the rest of your hundred or so hours in the game. If you want to make the game harder then you will have to beat the game or restart completely, beginning a new save file on the Hard difficulty setting. This means that if you are unsure of which to choose at the beginning of the game you should go with Hard so you can lower it if it becomes a problem later on.

If you are on Hard Difficulty all you need to do to change it is go into the System Settings and look for the Difficulty option. If it’s greyed out then you cannot change it, which will be the case if you went with Normal over Hard. If you took the tougher path right away though, you can drop it down to make things a bit easier for you in the long run.

There’s a second difficulty choice of sorts though, going with either Classic or Casual mode. The difference between these is simply that if you lose a unit in combat, Classic means they never return. It’s a sort of permadeath system, which Fire Emblem has been known for for years, though the soldiers here often don’t actually die. They just sort of give up on fighting. Your choice here is also set in stone, so be sure to pick the one that works best for you. Classic is definitely the way to go for the more pure Fire Emblem: Three Houses experience, and with your time rewind ability it usually isn’t too punishing.

That’s all there is to know about how to change difficulty in Fire Emblem: Three Houses. Not the best answer for some, but if you were struggling you should

You May Like