The Division 2 is the sort of game where you might find yourself putting hundreds of hours in. This means your gamesave is the most important aspect of the experience. If you put a bunch of hours into a character or mission and lose it, well you might just give up on the whole thing. That leaves a lot of players asking how to save in The Division 2.
How to Save in The Division 2
The answer, as is the case with so many games these days, is that you don’t manually save. The Division 2 is an always online experience, so your progress is being saved pretty much all the time. Every time you pick up a new gun, complete a mission, kill an enemy, earn some XP, or whatever it is you’re doing in post-pandemic Washington DC, it gets saved automatically on Ubisoft’s servers. It doesn’t happen immediately all the time, so watch for the small icon that appears onscreen whenever the game autosaves. Once you see it, you’re in the clear…somewhat.
Now, that doesn’t mean you can just close the game whenever you want. There are parts of the game that get saved and then there’s stuff you need to keep an eye on. For example, if you ran a long distance to get to a new section of the map, your position isn’t really saved. If you close out of the game entirely and come back, you’ll have teleported to a nearby safe house instead. So if you don’t want to make the trek all over again, you should find a way to unlock a fast travel point (see this guide for how to fast travel). Once you have that, you can safely exit and come back later without losing any real progress.
And that’s all there is to know about how to save in The Division 2.