Game News

Japan Is Getting Three Nintendo Switch Games That We Aren’t

by Jelani James


Nintendo announced a slew of new games for the Nintendo Switch during its Direct presentation earlier today but, per usual, Japan got a little bit extra.

Here are the announcements in case you only watched the U.S. Nintendo Direct:

SaGa: Scarlet Grace

SaGa: Scarlet Grace is the latest entry in Square Enix’s long-running RPG series that dates back to 1992 (or 1989 if you count The Final Fantasy Legend). The latest installment to come before it, Imperial SaGa, arrived for web browsers in Japan in 2015, while the most recent one released in the West was Romancing SaGa 2 last year.

Taiko no Tatsujin: Nintendo Switch Version

Taiko no Tatsujin is a fun series of rhythm games created by Namco. Originally designed as an arcade game, the series has gone on to have releases on platforms such as the PlayStation 2, PlayStation Portable, Nintendo DS, Wii, PlayStation 4, iOS and Android. Yet, despite being around since 2001 and released on so many platforms, there has only been one entry which was officially released in North America: the first one.

Phantasy Star Online 2: Cloud

Sega’s ever-popular MMO series, Phantasy Star Online, is coming to the Nintendo Switch in the form of Phantasy Star Online 2: Cloud on April 4. What separates this version from the one that arrived in 2012 and all the later releases (none of which have been officially released outside of Japan)? Thanks to being on the Cloud, there’s no need to wait for updates. Oh, there’s also a Breath Of The Wild Link costume.

For what it’s worth, the Nintendo Switch is region-free, but that means little if you don’t understand Japanese. Here’s to hoping that we hear news about a Western release for any one of these three titles in the future.

- This article was updated on:April 26th, 2018

GAME DEALSGet Twitch Prime For Free Right Now and get in-game items, rewards, and free games
You May Like
Save $10 on Cyberpunk 2077
Promoted - Amazon