Attack of the Fanboy
×
News

Shiny Meltan Appearing in New Pokémon GO Event

This is the first time Shiny versions of the Mythical Pokémon will be available.

by Dylan Siegler

pokemon-go-shiny-meltan-event

A new in-game event centered around the Lunar New Year just recently started in Pokémon GO, but that’s not the only thing happening in the mobile game, as a new event revolving around the Mythical Meltan has just been announced.

Today (February 5), Niantic announced that a new in-game event has started in Pokémon GO as of 1:00pm PST/4:00pm EST today, and will continue through March 4 at 11:59pm PST/March 5 at 2:59am EST. During this timeframe, players will be able to encounter Shiny versions of the Mythical Meltan for the first time. Since Meltan can only be caught in Pokémon GO (and later transferred to Let’s Go, Pikachu! and Eevee!, if you want), this also makes it the first time that Shiny Meltan will be available in any game.

In addition to the introduction of Shiny Meltan, players will also be able to open their Mystery Boxes, causing Meltan to spawn, every three days during this event, as opposed to only being able to open a Mystery Box every seven days, as per usual. To reopen your Mystery Box (or to get one in the first place), you’ll need to transfer a Pokémon from your GO app to a copy of Let’s Go, Pikachu! or Eevee!, which you can learn how to do by clicking here.

You May Like
ICYMI