×

Sony Ahead Of Paris Games Week: ‘E3 Was Only Half The Story’

on

“E3 was only half the story.”

This is the latest message left by Sony in the US PlayStation Blog, suggesting, once again, that this year’s Paris Games Week will be one for the ages.

Of course, its part of a company’s job to increase the hype ahead of any major event or reveal, but this might not be simple braggadocio on Sony’s part this time around. Sony didn’t have a “bad” showing at E3 2017, but it was by no means amazing either. It did just enough to get fans hyped up for the future in 2018, but the only titles which were showcased had been ones that the public had already known about.

However, going off of what Sony is saying here, it appears that its lackluster showing at E3 may have been intentional and it intentionally held back on announcements so that it could spread things out over two pressers instead of one.

And if that’s the case, then one has to wonder exactly what Sony has in the bag for next week. For now, all we know is that Sony has 21 game updates, including seven all-new game announcements for PS4 and PS VR, planned during its introductory livestream at 8 a.m. PST/11 a.m. EST, followed by an exclusive new look at the “next wave of huge PlayStation titles” during its Media Showcase at 9 a.m. PST/11 a.m. EST

A declaration like this is certainly exciting, but Sony does run the risk of over-hyping the reveals only for them to fall flat.

Here’s to hoping it can deliver.

The PlayStation Media Showcase and introductory live stream at Paris Games Week 2017 will be live streamed on live.playstation.comTwitchYouTube, and Facebook.