Attack of the Fanboy
×
News

Splatoon 2 Offers Limited-Time Demo with Free Online Subscription Trial

The perfect opportunity to check out Nintendo's take on the shooter genre.

by Dylan Siegler

splatoon-2-special-demo

The Splatoon series has quickly become one of Nintendo’s most popular since the debut of the first game on the Wii U in 2015. However, with the lackluster sales of the Wii U, many people’s introduction to the series was with 2017’s Splatoon 2 for the Switch. If you’re one of the Switch owners who has yet to try out this second installment, you’ll soon have the perfect opportunity to do so.

Nintendo recently announced that there will soon be a free Splatoon 2 demo available from the Switch’s eShop for a limited time. This demo will be available from tomorrow, March 19, at 7:00am PST/10:00 am EST through March 25 at 6:59am PST/9:59am EST and will allow players to test out modes like 4-on-4 Turf War, Salmon Run, and Ranked Battles.

Since Splatoon 2 is a largely online game, this demo will also come with a seven-day free trial of the Nintendo Switch Online subscription service. Those who have already participated in a free trial of the service will be able to participate in this one as well by downloading the demo. If after playing the demo you decide you want to own the full game, Splatoon 2 will also be on sale at 20% off from the Switch’s eShop during the same period of time that the demo is available for.

You May Like
ICYMI