Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Diablo 2 Resurrected Level Cap: What is the Max Level in Diablo 2?

Just how hard is it to reach the level cap in Diablo 2: Resurrected?
Diablo 2: Resurrected key art

What is the level cap, the max level the player can reach, in Diablo 2: Resurrected? Diablo 2: Resurrected is a game where character progression is immensely satisfying. Whether that’s donning powerful armor from a vanquished boss or slowly seeing your undead army grow as a Necromancer. The way experience works in the game is rather complicated; fortunately, we’ve put together this guide to explain the level cap, as well as experience penalties, as simply as possible.

What is the Max Level in Diablo 2: Resurrected?

The max level you can reach in Diablo 2: Resurrected is level 99, which requires 3,520,485,254 total experience points and rewards a total of 98 skill points and 490 stat points. You won’t be reaching level 99 through normal gameplay, however, as the experience to level up increases exponentially every level. By the end of Diablo 2: Resurrected, on normal, the player will be around level 30-40, which is less than 0.5% of the experience total needed for the level cap, level 99.


That’s right. By the end of the game, you will only be around 0.3% – 0.4% through the total experience needed for max level in Diablo 2: Resurrected. Characters will only earn 100% potential experience by slaying enemies within 5 levels of their own until level 25. After level 25, the player will receive decreased experience when fighting enemies 6 levels or below, decreasing exponentially the lower the level of the enemy from 81% at 6 levels below, to 5% at 10 or more below.

After level 70, this gets even harder, as the player will receive an EXP penalty, which gets worse for every level gained, on top of the already existing penalty for slaying monsters 5 or more levels below. The penalty starts at 95.31% for players trying to get to level 70, decreasing by around 4-5% for every level gained, ending at an eyewatering 0.59% at level 99. That is a lot of Secret Cow Level runs.

In Diablo 2: Resurrected‘s harder difficulties, you will lose EXP every time you die. Nightmare difficulty has a penalty of losing 5% of the total EXP to the next level, while Hell has a penalty of 10%. PvP duels on Nightmare and Hell difficulties will also result in experience loss, so don’t get cocky and fight in duels you could lose. Experience loss cannot level the player down. If you’ve just reached level 71 and die, you won’t be downgraded back to level 70.


Diablo 2: Resurrected‘s increasing level-up experience requirements, experience loss system and experience gain penalties make level 99 a daunting task that the majority of the player base will never reach. Everything is possible with a little help from your friends, though! You will gain more experience from slaying enemies in Diablo 2: Resurrected based on the number of people you are currently playing with. Visit our guide to learn how to play multiplayer with your friends in Diablo 2: Resurrected.

Diablo 2: Resurrected is available for PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PS4, PS5 and Nintendo Switch.

You May Also Like


Update 1.06 has arrived for Diablo 2 Resurrected, and here’s the full list of changes and fixes added with this...


Diablo 2: Resurrected is fun to play with friends, but playing solo and enjoying the story on your own terms...


Patch 1.03 along with patch notes have been released for Diablo 2: Resurrected. Diablo 2: Resurrected is a recently released...


Diablo 2: Resurrected is an interesting take on remastering classic titles. It stays very true to the original release of...


Copyright © 2020 Modern Media Group LLC