Sora in Smash Ultimate: Release Date, Update Time, And More

He's finally here.

by Diego Perez

Sora-v-Sephiroth

It’s finally happening. Sora from Kingdom Hearts is coming to Super Smash Bros. Ultimate as the game’s final DLC fighter. While it’s sad that Smash Ultimate won’t be getting a third Fighters Pass or any more DLC, there isn’t a better character to end the DLC cycle with than Sora. While Donald and Goofy aren’t joining Sora in the battle, it’s still great to have this keyblade wielder in Smash at all. Sora is nearly here, so here’s everything you need to know about this new fighter including his release time.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Sora Release Time

Sora will be released alongside Super Smash Bros. Ultimate version 13.0. Smash Ultimate updates are always released at the same time, so we already know when to expect Sora even though Nintendo hasn’t officially confirmed the release time. Here’s when Sora releases in your time zone:

  • October 18
    • 6:00 PM PDT
    • 7:00 PM MDT
    • 8:00 PM CDT
    • 9:00 PM EDT
  • October 19
    •  2:00 AM BST
    • 3:00 AM CEST
    • 4:00 AM MSK
    • 5:00 AM GMT
    • 6:30 AM IST
    • 9:00 AM SST
    • 9:00 AM CST
    • 10:00 AM JST
    • 12:00 PM AEDT
    • 2:00 PM NZDT

How to Get Sora in Smash

Like most DLC fighters, Sora can be purchased individually or as a part of Fighters Pass Vol. 2. Sora on his own costs $5.99 and includes a new stage and several music tracks. Fighters Pass Vol 2. is priced at $30 and includes the most recent six DLC fighters. That means you’ll get Min Min, Kazuya, Sephiroth, and everyone in between.

Sora-1

After purchasing Sora or the Fighters Pass, simply log into Super Smash Bros. Ultimate after downloading the most recent update and he’ll be available immediately. You’ll get access to all of the new Kingdom Hearts music as well as the Hollow Bastion stage.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Version 13.0 Patch Notes

There are currently no official patch notes for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate version 13.0. Nintendo typically releases patch notes for Smash shortly after updates are released, and the Japanese patch notes are usually posted first. We’ll post the official English patch notes once they’re available.

Balance changes and fighter adjustments typically come alongside new fighters in major updates, and since Sora is the final Smash Ultimate DLC character, this is likely going to be the final balance patch for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate as a whole. The meta has dramatically shifted since the game first launched nearly two years ago, but things will remain mostly the same from here on out unless a character ends up extremely broken and Nintendo has to issue a fix. Don’t expect many more fighter adjustments except minor adjustments for Sora in the coming weeks.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate is available now for Nintendo Switch.

MORE
Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Ver. 13.0.1 Patch Notes
The final patch is now available for Super Smash Bros Ultimate. It really does seem like things are finally winding...
Attack of the Fanboy
Nickelodeon All-Star Brawl How Nickelodeon All Star Brawl Has Potential to Steal Smash Bros’ Competitive Thunder
With Smash Bros Ultimate winding down, now's the perfect time for a new platform fighter to rise, and Nickelodeon All-Star Brawl could be it.
Attack of the Fanboy
Sora Joining Super Smash Bros as the final fighter Sora Almost Didn’t Make It Into Smash
And where would we be without Sora?
Attack of the Fanboy
Sora in Super Smash Bros. Smash Ultimate Sora Guide: Moveset, Tips, and More
Breaking down the moves of Ultimate's final character
Attack of the Fanboy
MORE FROM AOTF