My Hero Academia Chapter 402 Spoilers, Release Timeline and Recap

Here are My Hero Academia Chapter 402 spoilers and release timeline so you don't miss any action!

by Matthew Kevin Mitchell
Image: Kohei Horikoshi

My Hero Academia chapter 401 ended on a thrilling cliffhanger with the possibility of All Might’s death. While many fans are hoping for his survival, there is a chance that may not happen. The past 40 chapters have also left us wondering about Deku and Shigaraki’s staring contest. Will the upcoming chapters finally provide answers? Fortunately, spoilers for Chapter 402 will be available before its official release. Here’s everything you need to know about My Hero Academia chapter 402.

My Hero Academia Chapter 402 Spoilers

My Hero Academia chapter 402 spoilers and raw scans have been released:

Chapter 402: The Tearful Day

The chapter begins with Shoto and Ochako on the ground as the cops confirm they’ve both done their jobs of stopping Dabi and Toga. We see that the Twices have vanished from U.A. and that Momo was fighting them, with a spear in her hands and machine guns on her shoulders.

Hatsume says that without the U.A is now lighter without the Twices and it’ll be able to float again. Deku is managing to keep Shigaraki away from U.A. and fight him in close quarters, but now All For One is getting closer to them.

His plan is to use gloop warp, bring Tomura closer and give him the synthetic copy of the All For One quirk to finally complete the body hijack. All Might tries to taunt him, but AFO says he’ll complete his plan first. He uses the gloop warp, but Shigaraki refuses to go!!

The goo starts to come out of Shigaraki’s mouth, but he simply closes it. “you’re a nuisance, sensei”. AFO understands that Tomura’s consciousness is far too strong and changes to plan B, which consists of grabbing All Might by the leg and flying him to Deku and Shigaraki

.AFO says that All Might was the one who put this idiotic dream in those kids’ heads, so now he has to pay the price. Tomura teases Deku by saying he has to save All Might and that, in the meantime, he’ll go and kill everyone who’s at U.A. Deku is panting like crazy.

Deku had been forcing himself not to cry because AM said he had to stop being a crybaby, but he’s at his limit. The All Might vestige starts to fade, “forewarning his farewell”. The next page shows Deku shouting “All Might!!!”, with tears flowing like energy from his eyes.

All Might starts reminiscing. “Can I become a hero even without a quirk?” asks Deku. “Of course you can. After all, you always do your best and never give up on your dream. I’ve never been able to give up on mine either… my dream of being the symbol of peace…”

All Might then grabs All For One’s neck with the arm that still has a gauntlet on and smiles!!!!!! AFO remembers Nana’s last moments (the same panels from volume 0), but doesn’t quite know why. She was a pathetic woman who died in a ridiculous way, so why?

Nana, in her last moments, said: “All For One, All Might is going to defeat you… because Toshinori is crazier than you”. Cut to the present and AM says, “If you die one more time, you’ll rewind into a kindergartener, right?” and his gauntlet explodes. End of chapter.

My Hero Academia Chapter 401 Recap

My Hero Academia Chapter 401 starts with All For One unable to move while Stain and All Might charge at him. Stain found blood after overhearing All Might’s conversation with Tenya Iida and Shoto Todoroki. Stain discovered that the blood was not All Might’s.

Stain believes that anyone can be a hero, even if they have to crawl to fight. All Might understand what Stain is saying, and they both prepare to attack All For One. They yell, “I am here!” as they rush at him. All For One uses his abilities to expel his blood and throws Stain away.

All For One reveals that he used Antigen Modification to keep his identity a secret. Stain bleeds badly, and All For One chases after him, hoping to steal his Bloodcurdle Quirk. All Might arrives and is saved by the last pieces of Hercules.

All Might see a vision of Nana Shimura encouraging him to keep fighting. He then sees a vision of Sir Nighteye telling him he can’t fight anymore. All Might responds that he’s not dead yet and continues to move towards All For One.

My Hero Academia chapter 401 ends with All For One watching U.A. fall as the police claim he is approaching Shigaraki and is close enough to teleport.

My Hero Academia Chapter 402 Release Timeline

My Hero Academia
Chapter 402

The My Hero Academia chapter 402 release timeline is scheduled for 1:00 AM JST on Monday, October 2, 2023. Here are the time zone conversions for the most common cities:

  • 8:00 AM PST Sunday, October 1
  • 9:00 AM MST Sunday, October 1
  • 10:00 AM CST Sunday, October 1
  • 12:00 PM EST Sunday, October 1
  • 1:00 PM AST Sunday, October 1
  • 2:00 PM BRT Sunday, October 1
  • 5:00 PM GMT Sunday, October 1
  • 7:00 PM CEST Sunday, October 1
  • 9:30 PM IST Sunday, October 1
  • 11:00 PM ICT Sunday, October 1
  • 12:00 AM PHT Sunday, October 2
  • 1:00 AM JST Monday, October 2

Related: Kagurabachi Chapter 3 Spoilers, Release Timeline, and Recap

Where Can I Read My Hero Academia Chapter 402?

You can read My Hero Academia chapter 402 on the Manga Plus website for free to catch up before the latest chapter releases. However, you must subscribe for a membership if you want to read anything before the latest three chapters. If you are reading on a mobile device, you can also download the Shonen Jump Manga and Comics app to read all official Shonen Jump Mangas, including My Hero Academia.

- This article was updated on October 8th, 2023

About The Author

Matthew Kevin Mitchell has been a contributing writer for Attack of the Fanboy and PC Invasion since 2022. Matthew primarily covers Manga like One Piece, horror movies like Scream, and survival horror games like Dead by Daylight. His favorite moment came during his first press event covering Scream 6 for AotF. He hails from Denver, Colorado, where he received his Bachelor of Science in Information Technology from Regis University. When he isn’t scaring himself silly or writing, he loves to play ice hockey, spoil his dog, and drink an unhealthy amount of coffee.