Attack of the Fanboy

Destiny Light Levels Being Removed For The Taken King

by William Schwartz


One of Destiny’s most controversial aspects over the last year has been the Light leveling system.  Basically, once you reached level 20, you needed to equip armor with very specific light levels to max out your character.  Apparently, Bungie is ditching Light in The Taken King Expansion for a more traditional leveling system that is based on XP.

Revealed in this month’s issue of Game Informer, experience points will directly impact your level progression from level one, all the way to the new level cap of 40.

The details about this new progression system are slim.  But they do note that weapons and armor will continue to make your character more powerful.  Just how the math works out in how to get to level 40 in Destiny is anyone’s guess.  Regardless, giving players the ability to choose gear that suits them, and not to achieve the highest rank should certainly be welcomed.

“The conflation of gear and character level led to this place where your identity was determined by things outside of your control,” Luke Smith of Bungie told the magazine.

That’s not all when it comes to changes in Destiny for the expansion.  If you’ve become attached to your Legendary gear, you’ll be sad to hear that none of it will be upgradeable in the second year of Destiny.  Bungie’s answer, “We’ve built a whole bunch of new toys.”

Destiny: The Taken King is slated to arrive on September 15th.

You May Like
Up Next