Game News

Sonic Forces Gets New Trailer Ahead Of Tomorrow’s Release

by Jelani James


Sonic Forces arrives tomorrow, so Sega and the Sonic Team has released a launch trailer showing off Sonic the Hedgehog’s latest game in action.

The trailer shows off the gameplay and various modes featured in Sonic Forces. Just like in Generations, players will be able to play as Modern and Classic Sonic, whose stages are designed with the eras that they’re from in mind. Unlike Generations, however, they aren’t only re-imaginings or updates to previous stages, but brand-new ones (or clever combinations of two pre-existing ones). We see both running through a variety of areas, such as in outer space, the desert and a casino, as well as two boss fights.

Most of the gameplay displayed throughout the trailer focuses on the game’s newest feature — Avatar creation. As you likely know, players will be able to make their own hero will be able to assist Sonic during the campaign. There are plenty of options to choose from and each character can use a specific Wispon which grants them a unique offensive and movement-based ability in a stage to further their individuality. Though the created hero will get stages of their own, there are also some where s/he will team up with Modern Sonic and make use of the new Tag ability, which allows the player to switch between the two at will and come up with unique ways to get through a stage.

The last feature surrounding the Avatar is known as “Rental Avatar,” which basically gives a player access to Avatar characters created by other players from around the world. This grants the player the ability to switch between the two at will, gaining access to the Wispons used by each character and potentially any secret paths (and red rings) they might not be able to reach normally.

Beyond that, the trailer includes what you would typically find in a launch trailer, with it providing a brief overview of the story and characters, as well as one last reminder about the Episode Shadow DLC.

Sonic Forces is due out on the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC on Nov. 7.

Check out the trailer below:

You May Like