Game News

Two New Life is Strange Games in Development, Prequel “Before the Storm” Coming This Summer

by Dylan Siegler


If you played 2015’s Life is Strange, then you know the both literal and metaphorical storm of emotional turmoil that the game wrought among its players. There has been some news recently from the game’s developer, DONTNOD, that a new game in the series is being worked on. Later, it was speculated that Colorado-based developer Deck Nine was also working on a Life is Strange game. It was unknown at the time whether Deck Nine and DONTNOD were working on the same follow-up, or if Deck Nine was in fact working on a new Life is Strange game at all. But today (June 11), during Microsoft’s presentation at E3, as well as in an announcement on the official Life is Strange blog, it was confirmed that DONTNOD and Deck Nine are in fact working on two separate Life is Strange games.

No new information has been revealed about DONTNOD’s new Life is Strange game, but we did get a look at Deck Nine’s new title at E3. The new game will be called Life is Strange: Before the Storm and, like its predecessor, will be an episodic series. Before the Storm will be shorter than the original, having three episodes as opposed to the first game’s five, but the Deluxe Edition of the game will also contain a bonus episode. The first of the three main episodes will be released on August 31st and will be available for Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC via Steam.

The rest of this article contains SPOILERS for Life is Strange.

As many suspected, Deck Nine’s Before the Storm will act as a prequel to the original game and Chloe will be the main playable character. Unlike Max, Chloe will not have the power to rewind time, so any decisions made by the player are arguably more important than ever, seeing as how you can’t go back and correct yourself if you think you’ve made a mistake. This time around, the younger Chloe will be voiced by Rhianna DeVries, with Chloe’s original voice actor, Ashly Burch, taking on writing duties. The three main episodes of the game will involve Chloe’s story in between Max’s move away from Arcadia Bay and her return during the events of the first Life is Strange. Events in this period of time include the death of Chloe’s father as well as Chloe meeting up with Rachel Amber, both of which look like they will be at least touched upon in the new game. The bonus episode, which is being called the “Farewell” episode, will have the players playing as Max one last time, this time after the events of the original game. The blog post also states that the game’s first gameplay reveal will take place tomorrow, Monday, June 12, at 12:00PM PST on an IGN livestream. You can watch the game’s E3 trailer below.

Life is Strange: Before The Storm E3 2017 Trailer

- This article was updated on:March 8th, 2018

You May Like