How to Play the Resident Evil Games In Order

Time to play through the Resident Evil games!

by Gordon Bicker


The Resident Evil franchise has seen immense transformation and evolution over the years but still always remains to its roots in one key way or another. With the reveal of the Resident Evil 2 Remake, fans have been indulging themselves in the universe of the franchise once again, and with the vast quantity of games for the series, they may be wondering where to start. If you are planning to play through the Resident Evil games in chronological order then look no further than this article.

The Chronological Order of the Resident Evil Games

If you are wanting to play through the games as the events naturally happen throughout the series, then you will need to play the games in this specific order:

Game Title Chronological (Game) Year
Resident Evil 0 1998
Resident Evil 1998
Resident Evil 3: Nemesis (First half of the story) 1998
Resident Evil 2  1998
Resident Evil 3: Nemesis (Second half of the story) 1998
Resident Evil: Code Veronica 1998
Resident Evil 4 2004
Resident Evil Revelations 2005
Resident Evil 5 2009
Resident Evil Revelations 2 2011
Resident Evil 6 2012
Resident Evil 7: Biohazard 2017
Resident Evil Village 2021

As can be observed, you will certainly have a lot to work your way through for the full Resident Evil experience. Playing through the two remakes will prepare you for the upcoming Resident Evil 4 release and although not noted above, you can also play through the remake versions of both Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil 3 instead of the originals if you prefer. However, if you’re wanting a truly authentic experience then playing the originals first will ensure this essence is kept.

It’s time to join S.T.A.R.S once again and enjoy the Resident Evil franchise to its fullest! There isn’t too long to wait now until the Resident Evil 4 remake will be released next year, so time to rip through some zombie flesh while you’re waiting for the next game to release for the franchise.

Resident Evil 4 will be released next year on March 24th for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, and PC.

Trending on AOTF