Game Guides

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order – How to Change Difficulty

Make Cal's adventure easier - or harder - on the fly.

by Brandon Adams


Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order has four difficulty modes to chose from, and they range from “Baby’s First Dark Souls” to “I Heard You Liked Sekiro.” The game may ask you to pick a mode when you start the game, but Fallen Order is more than willing to let you experiment.

Go into the Settings, and change difficulty within the Gameplay section.

At any point in the game you can change the difficulty, so long as you are not in combat. There are absolutely zero achievements tied to difficulty, so if you find yourself struggling against a certain enemy you can freely tune the difficulty down. Or, boost it up to Jedi Grandmaster if you really want to suffer.

The nice thing about difficulty in Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is that it is transparently explained in the menu. Story essentially makes incoming damage and enemy aggression (how frequently they will attack) nil, whilst making parry timing as simple as blocking at any point during an enemy’s attack. Grandmaster, on the other end of the spectrum, makes every strike hit like a runaway freight train, and requires parries to be perfectly timed. The best part about Fallen Order’s difficulty – in my humble opinion – is that is doesn’t boost enemy health. Enemies will hurt you plenty, and they’ll be more aggressive and press their attacks at higher levels, but they don’t become tedious meat-shields.

I personally found Jedi Master to be the most satisfying of the four: challenging enough without making me want to smash my controller into a million tiny bits. The die-hards will likely settle for Grandmaster, but if all you want to do is to enjoy the narrative and environmental puzzles then Story will make you feel like an unstoppable badass.

And that’s how to change difficulty in Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. For more guides, check out our guides page.

You May Like